Return to Headlines

District MSHSL AAA Nominees

Seniors Ehrin Quinn and Spencer Bertram from Tech High School and Thomas Otto and Elizabeth Weitzel from Apollo High School have been nominated to represent their schools in the AAA program in Section 8AA. 

AAA - which stands for Academics, Arts and Athletics - recognizes students who participate in Minnesota State High School League athletic programs, fine arts activities and carry a 3.0 or higher-grade point average.

Quinn, Bertram, Otto and Weitzel will advance to the section competition, and will be honored at the Section AAA Recognition banquet at Cragun's Resort.

Section winners will advance to the state competition. State Triple "A" Award recipients are chosen by a multi-level process involving the MSHSL's member schools and administrative regions.

League officials will announce the four award recipients - a girl and a boy from both a Class A and Class AA school - at an on-court recognition ceremony during the state boys’ basketball tournament in March. Each award recipient will receive a four-year $1,000 scholarship.

"The Triple "A" Award is one of the most coveted awards presented to students in Minnesota," said Jody Redman, associate director of the Minnesota State High School League.