Return to Headlines

2019 Central Minnesota Athena Award Honorees

The Central Minnesota Athena Awards, sponsored by Kwik Trip, honor top female athletes from area schools and districts. The Central Minnesota Athena Awards, in its inaugural year, is a collaborative partnership between 13 area school districts, administered through St. Cloud Area School District 742. This recognition event was held on May 1, 2019 at St. Cloud River’s Edge Convention Center during a by invitation luncheon and ceremony celebrating the Athena Award honorees from each school. The keynote speaker was Lindsay Whalen, Head Coach of the Women’s Basketball program and Lisa Lissimore, Associate Director of the Minnesota State High School League, served as the emcee. Staff and athletic directors from area school districts who selected the honorees were in attendance along with family members. The Athena Awards program has a long tradition in the metro area and honors female high school seniors for their athletic achievements. The Central Minnesota Athena Awards are new to the Central Minnesota region and modeled after similar recognition events held in the Twin Cities.

The 2019 Central Minnesota Athena Award Honorees are:

  • McKenzie Duwenhoegger - Alexandria
  • Olivia King - Brainerd
  • Jessica Milstroh - Foley
  • Elizabeth Wortz - Hutchinson
  • Brook Carney - Moorhead
  • Jenna Carlson - Royalton
  • Brooke Walters – Sartell-St. Stephen
  • Reece Ritter – Sauk Centre
  • Lariah Washington – St. Cloud Apollo
  • Megan Voit – St. Cloud Cathedral
  • Meya Washington – St. Cloud Tech
  • Emma Lezer – St. Michael-Albertville
  • Emily Beseman - Swanville